15.9 C
Friday, March 17, 2023

The Netherlands adopted a resolution against Bulgaria and Romania in Schengen

DISCLAIMER: Information and opinions reproduced in the articles are the ones of those stating them and it is their own responsibility. Publication in The European Times does not automatically means endorsement of the view, but the right to express it.

The European Times News aims to cover news that matter to increase the awareness of citizens all around geographical Europe.

The document says that the Dutch government should not vote on accession

The Dutch Parliament adopted on 20th of October a resolution directed against the admission of Bulgaria and Romania to the Schengen area.

The document says that the Dutch government should not vote on the accession of the two Eastern European countries until it is certain that they fulfill all the conditions for Schengen.

This was announced for the Romanian “Adgerpress” by the Dutch MEP Sofia in’t Veld, coordinator in the Commission on Civil Liberties of the European Parliament.

On Tuesday, the European Parliament voted by a large majority on a resolution calling on member states to allow Romania and Bulgaria to join the Schengen area for free travel.

“To my great regret, the Dutch Parliament passed a resolution stating that the Netherlands should not vote for the accession of Romania and Bulgaria to the Schengen area. I deeply regret this. My party voted against this resolution, we want Romania and Bulgaria immediately to join the Schengen area, you have fulfilled the necessary criteria. You must understand that not everyone in the Netherlands is against it. My party wants Bulgaria and Romania to join Schengen immediately, but most parties in the government do not want that,” said Sofia in’t Veld.

The resolution calls for an analysis of the functioning of the rule of law, the reduction of the level of corruption and organized crime in Bulgaria and Romania.

Commenting on the resolution, Romanian Prime Minister Nicolae Cuca said that it was not a concern for him, as Romania had done everything necessary to fulfill the technical requirements for accession, specifically regarding compliance with conditions related to the rule of law. corruption and organized crime. He added that Dutch officials could come on a fact-finding visit if they thought there were problems.

Currently, among the EU member states, only Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are not part of the Schengen area, which also includes countries that are not members of the European Union – Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Photo by Christian Lue on Unsplash

- Advertisement -

More from the author

- Advertisement -

Must read

- Advertisement -

Latest articles